This Beef Farmer’s Favourite: Beef and Broccoli

Another great guest post by Christine.

A while ago, I wrote a post and was quickly corrected by my husband.  I stated that Korean Beef Bulgogi was his favourite dish.  He said, “That’s my second favourite! My favourite is your Beef and Broccoli!”

Hubby's favourite dish!

In any case, I am still happy that my farmer husband and our three year old daughter love whatever dish I cook and that they are open to a variety of international dishes.  I mean, Hubby had never even heard of Baba Ganoush, kimchi, or hummus before marrying me. Now, he and our little one devour the stuff. Our three year old eats Baba Ganoush out of the bowl with a spoon! Forget pita chips or crackers!

I get the “Oh, it must be nice to have so much spare time to cook meals from scratch!” comments quite often. To be honest, I don’t have much spare time at all (Ummm…we live on a farm! There’s no such thing as spare time!) and making the dishes I make only takes a few minutes! This recipe takes less than 30 minutes from prep to finish!

Without further ado, here is Hubby’s favourite recipe.

BEEF & BROCCOLI
Ingredients:
1 lb boneless round steak (that’s what I prefer, but you can use whatever cut you want), cut into thin strips
1 onion, sliced (not too thinly)
garlic, minced (as much as you like)
Oyster sauce, a few Tbs. (3 or 4 Tbs, sometimes more – I’m not really sure. I go by taste)
Sesame oil, a few Tbs (see above)
Broccoli florets, one or two heads
Ginger, grated (about 1 to 2 tsp)
oil, to fry your strips of beef
a bit of water

1. In a large wok, heat oil. Cook beef strips over medium-high heat.
2. Add garlic and onion. Continue cooking.
3. Add broccoli, oyster sauce, sesame oil, ginger, and cook.
4. Add a bit of water to the sauce. Cook for a few minutes and stir. Serve over bed of hot steamed rice.

There you go! Who said home cooked meals had to take hours to make? :) Enjoy!

**********

AUTHOR’S BIO
Christine McNaughton is a city girl gone country (or at least trying to!). Born in Toronto and raised in Montreal, Christine received a B.A. in Honours English from York University (English Literature), and is also certified in TESL (Teaching English as a Second Language). She teaches English, and works as a freelance writer, blogger, product reviewer, and brand promoter.  Christine lives on a working beef farm with her husband and preemie daughter on Manitoulin Island, Ontario.

11 thoughts on “This Beef Farmer’s Favourite: Beef and Broccoli

  1. Absolutely scrumptious! I share many recipes on my blog and aim them at people who think they can’t cook and those who fear spoiling a recipe due to being just 1/4 teaspoon under or over. I like to take the mystery out of cooking and show people that recipes are guidelines and cooking to taste involves no magic. I use lots of photos and tons of explanation (and humor) in my “Cooking With Foxfur” posts and will be using your recipe in one of my next entries.
    Thank you so much!

Leave a Reply

